August 24, 2008

  • Wanna know what I did this weekend?

    Besides watching the first Pioneer football game of the season, I froze corn.

    Corn is one of the easiest vegetables to put up for the winter.  Step-by-step instructions can be found here.

    We bought three dozen ears of corn.  I froze two dozen.  We are going to have one dozen for dinner during the week.  Corn on the cob is a TrentTribe favorite! 

    Brian's Uncle Robert gave me the secret to picking the best corn.  He says to pull the silks back just far enough to see the end.  Corn that is not completely full (meaning that there is some corn missing at the very end of the cob) is the best.  If it's full, then it was left on the stalk too long.  Corn that was left on the stalk too long will be sticky or gummy when you eat it. 

    Did you alreadly know this?  Thanks for indulging me. 

    corn