August 12, 2009

  • Feeling My Age (or not)

    The other day, someone referred to me and "40 year olds" as the same and it was not meant to be a compliment.  Being 32, it horrified shocked me. I anxiously waited  for my chance to shout out my true age refrained from revealing my actual age. 

    Having four kids, paying our bills, and being responsible citizens doesn't make me older than my years!  It makes me happy! 

    When I'm forty, I'll cheerfully embrace it.  But for now, I've just warmed up to thirty-ish! 

    My "tongue in cheek" age rant, reminds me of a family friend.  She's 94.   Her younger brother is 80.  She was irritated at him because he told her he wasn't able to stand and play his guitar.  "After all," she said, "he's only 80."   The truth is, she feels younger than her age.   So do I. 

    So.  do.  I.

    "Those who love deeply never grow old; they may die of old age, but they die young." 

    "Old age is fifteen years older than I am."

    "Live your life and forget your age."