January 17, 2010

  • Valentine Dare, week 2

    It's been one week since we embarked on the Valentine Dare.  One week since we made the decision to demonstrate our love in hopes of improving our relationships.  To be honest, it's not been all "pie in the sky" for me. 

    I love my husband.  He and I are bound by so much more than romance alone.  What is hard for me?  Patience.  Holding my tongue.  Yeah, those are pretty hard.  Unfortunately, our words are a reflection of our hearts.  Mine's not reflecting so great.  Bleh.  I'm not giving up.  I'm going to persevere in demonstrating patience and removing negativity from my communication.  My marriage is worth the hard work. 

    The chief had to drive a good little distance this week to pick up some very important items.  After he returned home he realized the store had neglected to give him one of the very important items.  His schedule is 

    t. i. g. h. t. 

    He's finishing up big projects and hurrying some others along in anticipation of some upcoming life changes.  (I'll fill y'all in on that very soon.)  I could see the stress in his eyes as he was calculating when he'd next make it back to that store.  So, I offered to go in his stead.  Sounds easy enough? First off, the item was being purchased with store credit which meant we had to prove that I was him his wife.  Four kiddos had to tag along for the long ride and wait patiently in long lines.  Let's just say, the chief really appreciated it!  He thinks I'm sooo kind. 

    That greeting thing?  Much improved.    That's all I'm saying about that.

    So here we go, Week 2:

    1.  Love is a choice, not a feeling.  It is an initiated action, not a knee-jerk reaction.  Choose today to be committed to love even if your spouse has lost most of their interest in receiving it.  Say to them today in words similar to these, "I love you.  Period.  I choose to love you even if you don't love me in return."  You can give love to your spouse because God gives love to you - repeatedly.  Ask God to fill you with the kind of love only He can provide, then purpose to give it to your mate in a way that reflects your gratefulness to God for loving you.  That's the beauty of redeeming love.  That's the power of faithfulness.  

    2.  Part of this choosing to love is to remember why you married your spouse.  Go back through the photo albums.  Search out photos of the two of you.  Something to remind you of the happy times.  Choose a photo to frame and put in a prominent place in your bedroom. 

    Marriage is a beautiful mystery created by God, joining two lives together as one.  It's physical, spiritual, and emotional.  You start off sharing the same house, the same bed, the same last name.  Your identity as individuals has been joined into one.  When your spouse goes through a tragedy, both of you feel it.  When you find success at your job, both of you rejoice.  You are a part of one another.  When you look at your mate, you're looking at a part of you.  So treat him well.  Speak highly of him.  Nourish and cherish the love of your life.  Together remember the happiness and love that brought you together.

    3.  Begin praying today for your spouse's heart.  Choose three specific areas to pray over.  Areas that would transform your spouse's life and your marriage.  This is your chance to experience the power of prayer!  A farmer cannot make a seed grow into a fruitful crop.  He cannot argue, manipulate, or demand it to bear fruit.  But he can plant seed into fertile soil, give it water and nutrients, protect it from weeds, and then turn it over to God. 

    God is sovereign.  He does things his way.  He doesn't submit to your every wish.  But he does love you and desires an intimate relationship with you.  That doesn't happen apart from prayer.  (Luke 18:1, Philippians 4:6-7, Acts 12:1-17)

    The truth is The Love Dare and this Valentine Dare are really about you (and me).  They are really about changing us from the inside out.  Helping you (and me) become a more loving person.  And if we carry out each dare, our spouses will likely be affected and our marriages will begin to bloom! 

    ani-flower

    (Yep, I'm cheesy.)

    Valentine Dare, week 3

    Valentine Dare, week 4

    Valentine Dare, Concluded

    Clip art licensed from the Clip Art Gallery on DiscoverySchool.com

     

Comments (2)

  • So far so good for me....The comment thing wasn't hard for me, but the patience was. (I selfishly want my own timetable which usually means "I want this done yesterday!") My husband was confused why all of a sudden we were greeting him at the door with hugs. My BIL let the cat out of the bag and told him what I was doing. Hope it wasn't supposed to be a secret....

  • Husband and I watched the movie "Fireproof" last night, and it was then that I realized the link between your dares and what I'm guessing is the book referred to in the movie. Good movie, great activity, glad I've joined.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment