August 23, 2012

  • It's CRAAAAA-ZY!

    I've found in my own life and in the lives of others that when we make a decision to step out and do something big, REALLY big - it all goes CRAAAAA-ZY.  Have you been there? 

    It's like everything gets wonky. Stuff tears up.  We lose things.  The most mundane tasks became extremely difficult.  It's pretty much a guarantee that if we make a BIG spiritual decision the lawn mower's life is over.  It will never start again.  Please tell me this happens to you!

    I read an article about how this family made a decision to sell their house so they could adopt a child.  I was all like, "Wow!  That's so beautiful."  People, 

    Their. 

    Ceiling. 

    Fell.   

    In. 

    Literally. 

    I wanted to laugh.  I wanted to cry. 

    Today, if you are suffering wacky nut-so stuff after making a major decision, I want to encourage you.  Don't give up.  Persevere.  You are under attack. 

    And remember, "I know the LORD is always with me. I will not be shaken, for he is right beside me." Psalm 16:8

Comments (2)

  • Yeah, I have noticed this happening in our lives. I think we tend to subconsciously believe the prosperity gospel that gets preached either outright or subtly. Like if you give your time, money, possessions, whatever, God is gonna bless you by giving you back more than you gave. i guess the stories about the reverse (like your house ceiling falling in after you decide to sell it to adopt a child) just aren't very popular or "feel good." 

  • It's true...when we made the decision at the beginning of the year to live with less so we could give more we totally weren't planning on having to replace our whole septic system. That being said...it was a prayerful commitment in January and God faithfully carried us through the months of "sacrifice"(italics because I almost cringe to say sacrifice when I know how much we are blessed with) that were required to be able to pay for our septic system and remain faithful to our commitments! There is peace in walking in obedience~

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment