Month: November 2012

  • Heart-Wrenching Message

    Yesterday, I shared my heart with you about the attack on family.  Today, I want to share with you a sermon (Thanks for sending me the link, Joy!) about the attack on teens.  Have your tissues ready.  I know it is long-ish but I hope you won't let long-ish stop you from hearing a dad pour his heart out to the youth at his church.  This pastor is sharing his son's personal story.  My two oldest daughters will have listened to this before the day is out.  It is powerful.  It is honest.  Very honest. 

     

    May every yoke be broken from this generation, in Jesus' name! 

  • Family

    Living 6 or 7 hours away from family brings Thanksgiving into perspective.  We are so thankful for our vacation time to be able to drive in for a visit!  We are so thankful for cousin reunions.  It makes those three or four times a year so precious to us!  I am amazed when I see the cousins (my nieces and nephews) pick up right where they left off the last time they were together (sometimes months in between visits).  I believe their hearts are knit together by God.  After all, he designed them to be family.  He chose for them to belong to the same "tribe".  God is so good! 

    (Pictured is one half of our cousin tribe in our big white mammoth van.)

    I've watched these babies grow (and the babies not pictured too).  The days have turned into years much too fast!

    I read some statistics on family this week that just breaks my heart.  The enemy desires to separate and divide families.  He desires to steal a generation.  If ever we pray, we must pray for our children, our nieces, our nephews, our grandchildren, our neighbor's children, the children in our church...

    An Assessment of Today's Families

    The family today is in desperate need of help. Consider the following staggering statistics:

    One out of every three children is born out of wedlock.

    One out of every two marriages ends in divorce, including Christian marriages.

    One out of every three pregnancies ends in abortion.

    One million teenage girls became pregnant out of wedlock.

    Five hundred thousand of those girls will abort their babies.

    Of all the 14 Year Old girls alive today, 40 percent will become pregnant by their 19th birthday.

    60 percent of all church-involved teenagers are sexually active.

    Other statistics that impact the health of the family:

    One out of every four students drop out of high school.

    66 percent of American high school seniors have used illegal drugs.

    We have 90 million functional illiterates in our society.

    Now, that the bejeebies have been scared out of us with those numbers, let me say that in spite of these negative statistics, there is still much hope for the family because of God's Word and the church. God has answers if we search for them with a willing heart. As sure as the enemy attacks, there is greater power in God's ability to heal and to restore! 

    See previous post, "Scriptures to pray for my children".

    Statistics taken from Hope for the Family.

  • Katie's 1st Official 5K

    Katie ran her first official 5K in Kingsport, TN on Thanksgiving Day along with 800 others including her dad.  (How is that for a run-on sentence?)

    She did great!  She finished 314th over all and 15th in her age division.  So proud of her!  She is already planning her next 5K.  

     Her next one is in South Carolina and I am so glad.  I did not love FREEZING!

  • Thanks "living"

    "Oh that men would praise the Lord for His goodness and for His wonderful works to the children of men and let them sacrifice the sacrifices of thanksgiving."

    I say, "Lord, I'm so thankful for all that you've done for me."

    But talk is cheap. 

    Cause if I'm thankful it really ought to show in my life.  By the way I live.   

    All around we can find those who are grumbly hateful rather than humbly grateful.

    This Thanksgiving can be spent saying, "Oh we're thankful."  Followed by a big meal and football.  

    But what would happen if we went a little further than that?   

    Romans Chapter 12 says, "I beseech you therefore brethren by the mercies of God that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice wholly, acceptable unto God which is your reasonable service, and be not conformed to this world but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind that ye may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God."

    I want to offer myself this Thanksgiving to the LORD and say, "Lord, before I give you anything else I give you myself completely."

    Psalm 34:1 "I will bless the Lord at all times. His praise shall continually be in my mouth." 

    May his praise be continually in my mouth.  But most of all may it show in my life. 

    thanks

  • Scriptures to Pray for My Children

    I love this printable bookmark of scriptures to pray over my children.  Such a great reminder of God's promises! 

     

    (Click here for other great ways to pray for your children/grandchildren.)

  • Homemade Kool-Aid Lip Gloss

    My daughters and I led a small group back in September for girls (ages 4 to 10).  Our first lesson was about honesty.  We used the scripture,

    "The Lord detests lying lips but delights in those who are truthful."  (Proverbs 12:22)

    We made "Honest Lips" gloss using Kool-Aid and Vaseline.  It was so easy and the girls loved creating different colors and flavors.  We even used cocoa to make some chocolate gloss.

    Here's the basic recipe we used:

    Kool-Aid (various flavors/colors)

    Vaseline

    Sandwich baggies

    Lip Gloss Containers (can buy them at the craft store or use empty altoid tins)

    Put a scoop of Vaseline in a sandwich bag.  Add the desired amount of Kool-Aid.  More Kool-Aid = more flavor/color.  Zip bag.  Start squishing.  Squish until well mixed.  Once well mixed, begin working lip gloss down the bag into one of the bottom corners.  Snip tip of bag corner with scissors and pipe lip gloss into container (just like decorating a cake). 

    Pucker up for some lip-smacking fun!  Honest lips only, please.  ;)

  • Josiah: 10 months

    I'm devastated blown away that my New Year's baby is about to be a year old.  He has twelve teeth.  Shakes head for "no". Tries to wrestle with dad and big brother.  He wins, for now.  Time changed and he didn't (way to mess up a baby's schedule, daylight savings).  He doesn't like shoes but needs to wear them because he walks everywhere.  Sweet as ever. 

    2012, why are you passing so quickly?  So cruel.

  • Cherry Delight Salad

    This recipe has been a Trent Tribe fave for years now.  (Don't know why I'm just now getting around to sharing it on the blog?)  It is easy to double (or triple or quadruple) for a crowd.  I recently made it for our Passport Small Group at church. 

     

    1 can Eagle brand milk
    1 can cherry pie filling
    1 lg. container Cool Whip
    1 can crushed pineapple, drained
     
    Mix it all together.  Refrigerate.  
     
    So easy.  Seriously yummy.