Month: January 2013

  • 2013 Reading List: January Update

    I've set a goal to read 52 books in 2013.  I'm excited to have started the year off strong but I must confess that I've had a lot of extra reading time. 

    First of all, let me say that people often ask me how I find time to read because I have five kids, homeschool them, they're involved in lots, and I do a lot of volunteer work at our church.  (The chief is the pastor, volunteering goes with the territory but even when he isn't the pastor it still goes with my territory.)  Here's my secrets:  I don't watch TV.  My family may watch TV but you'll catch me sitting nearby with a nook in my hand.  Unless, there is a new episode of Duck Dynasty.  I also keep a book or my nook with me at all times.  I might only get in a page or two here and there but if I'm waiting, I'm reading. 

    The extra reading time has come from basketball practice.  Two of my gals are b-balling it up and as much as I enjoy watching them, I've been watching since October and there really are only so many suicides (running) a momma can watch. This has bought me about two extra reading hours (maybe more if I didn't have to run to the store so often).  I am the crazy lady sitting in the bleachers at practice boohooing over an eReader.  Seriously some of these books have been real tearjerkers. 

                                                                                      

     

    7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess - 7 is the true story of how the author (along with her husband and her children to varying degrees) took seven months, identified seven areas of excess, and made seven simple choices to fight back against the modern-day diseases of greed, materialism, and overindulgence. Jen Hatmaker is hilarious. I love her humor.  Most of all, she has set in motion some thoughts and evaluations of my current life.  The Chief and I live pretty modestly as it is.  I think reading 7 has given me more confidence in our lifestyle and opened my eyes to even more steps to a Christ-like simplicity and generosity.   Just read it.  You'll be glad.

    Unglued - The most important thing I learned from Lysa TerKeurst's book is finding peace in your most difficult relationships as you learn to be honest but kind when offended.  Serious.  If you are in a difficult relationship the only thing you can change is - you!  Unglued helps with that. 

    The Circle Maker - I will not lie.  After reading Mark Batterson's book, I prayed a circle around my home, my church, and parts of our town.  If that is weird to you, you'll have to read The Circle Maker to find out what the circles are all about.  I'm still praying circles. 

    The Duck Dynasty Family - I love the show.  I laughed and I was touched by their story.  I loved learning more about the history of the family and Duck Commander.  Reading their book only made me love the show even more. 

    The four remaining books are historical fiction.  I was able to download all of them for free thanks to The Frugal Girls.  Check the link everyday for free ebooks to download.  I've seen cookbooks, children's books, and all types of Christian fiction.  I enjoyed all four! 

    In addition to these great books, I am reading through the greatest book.  I've been doing my daily bible reading plan.  I've read the NKJV and the NIV in previous years.  This year I am reading the NLT.  I read from the Old Testament in the AM and the New Testament in the PM.  It's been awesome. 

    The only things that will cause you to change over the years are the books you read and the people you meet.

    No matter how busy you may think you are, you must find time for reading, or surrender yourself to self-chosen ignorance.

    Reading is a discount ticket to everywhere. 

  • Guess what?

    I received a package in the mail yesterday from my Mom.  Can you guess what it was?

    You'll find the answer in this post.

    Thanks, mom.  I love them!  I love you!

     

  • Life Isn't Perfect But It's Still Good

    There's quilting folklore where you leave a mistake in the quilt, because life isn't perfect but it's still good.  Of course, I don't have to plan for imperfections in my work.  My quilting mistakes come quite naturally on their own.

    The fact is that when we make a mistake, there is a lesson for us to learn. Mistakes are gifts. They offer us the opportunity to explore an area where perhaps we are lacking, need better knowledge and training, or need to reevaluate our approach. Mistakes give us the opportunity to learn what we need to correct the situation and to put systems in place so that the same mistakes are not on auto-repeat. After all, every experience in life is just a lesson that we will keep repeating until we finally learn from it.  Do find yourself in the same situation time and time again? 

    A life spent making mistakes is not only more honorable, but more useful than a life spent doing nothing. - George Bernard Shaw

    There will always be lessons but the real beauty lies in the fact that we are all given the opportunity to grow and learn.

    You know what?  I make lots of mistakes in life.  I'm going to live, really live, because life isn't perfect but it's still good - really good

  • Where There Is God's Will There Is A Way

    Just ask Moses.  He stood in front of the Red Sea with Pharaoh's army closing in.  He witnessed God making the impossible possible. 

    God’s people did not arrive at the Red Sea by accident.  God had been orchestrating this moment for hundreds of years.  Remember Joseph being sold into slavery by his brothers?  Egypt being spared complete devastation during the 7 years of famine?  This Red Sea situation was no more an accident than the Red Sea situation that you’re facing right now.  

    Whatever you are facing today, know that God is going to deliver you. 

    Where there is God's will, there is always a way.

     

  • My Anthem for 2013

    Jesus at the center of it all

    From beginning to the end

    It will always be, it's always been you, Jesus.

     

  • Cute Shoes verses Car Repairs

    I had my eye on these cute cute shoes. 

    Then...

    all three of our vehicles decided to betray me break down. 

    In the same month. 

    Ouch.  

    P.S.  The tag inside the cute shoes says, "because I wear rose-colored glasses." 

    P.P.S.  There will be more cute shoes.  And maybe, just maybe, there'll be no more car repairs?

  • Spring Harks

    Spring harks her way through drab January winter days. 

    The 70 degree temps we've enjoyed have been a wonderful reminder of Spring days to come.

    We'll still have some cold rainy days but I can't help to look forward to a South Carolina spring. 

    Spring in the Low Country comes early and shows out!

    The warm temps has spring in our hearts and a promise that it is on its way!

  • The Work I Love

    I sit on my bed surrounded by stacks of books and four kiddos waiting on a turn with mom.  (Even with independent work, sometimes everyone needs mom all at the same time.)  I work with two at a time.  The kids "in waiting" take turns playing with the toddler or doing a couple chores.  I've been homeschooling for over 10 years!  It's just a part of who our family is now.  I can honestly say that I NEVER contemplate life as anything but a homeschool family.  I deeply believe in it and love it.  It fits our family.

    That doesn't mean I don't hyperventilate once in while with thoughts of, "maybe I'm doing this all wrong" or "what if they aren't normal".  (Who the heck is normal, anyway?)  Those moments of panic came a little more frequently this past Fall when our oldest started highschool.  It's been a whole new ballgame for us to figure out.  Do we CLEP, dual enroll, and what to do about driver's education?   

    It hit me sometime in 2012 (after Josiah's birth), that I'll be doing this for at least eighteen more years.  28 years!  Too bad I won't have tenure or a retirement.  When we set out on this journey ten years ago, we had no idea I was making a career of it.  I'm kinda proud to realize how much geometry I still understand.  Who knew?  Or maybe it is just answered prayer * ?  Either way, this homeschooling momma is happy to be spending my days doing the work I love. 

    * "The shortest distance between a problem and a solution is the distance between your knees and the floor.” Unknown

    P.S.  Dear Chief, thank you for making our homeschool a success.  I can't imagine doing this without your support, help, and deep belief that homeschooling is right for our family.  heart

  • Valentine Wreath (Pinterest Inspired)

    I've not been pinning and doing.  Oh, I've been pinning.  Just not doing.  I've totally been slack.  So, when I saw this valentine wreath on Pinterest, I knew it was the perfect project for me to tackle.

     

    Here's my version:

    I used a wreath I already had.

    I printed a vintage valentine (for free, thanks google). 

    Framed it in a frame I had on hand.  Took all of five minutes to complete this project and $0.00.  I'm happy.  Even better, I'm pinning and doing;)

  • Awakening 2013 (Revolutionize your Relationship with God)

    We are starting the Awakening - 21 Days of Prayer, Fasting & Personal Devotion at LHC (Lighthouse Church) this weekend.  Would you like to hear the voice of God and feel His presence like never before?  Consider joining us, January 13 to February 2, for a time of fasting, praying, and giving.  If you are local, we have a prayer group meeting at 5:00 each Sunday evening. If you aren't local, you can find all the resources you need to participate online. 

    In a world where busy-ness is glorified, we can get bogged down spiritually.  It's time to hit the reset button and find revival in our lives! 

    Check out these links:

    The Awakening 2013 at LHC

    The Awakening 2013 Revival

    "This will be your best year - IF it is your best year spiritually."  - Stovall Weems