Month: March 2013

  • Epic EGGlow

    The toddler hunt was precious.

    The movie and movie snack packs were enjoyed.

    Prizes were awarded!  (Every single kid won something.)

    The gospel was shared in an illustration using the glowing eggs. 

    The glow sticks must be broken before their lights shine.  Then they are placed in an empty egg.  The glowing eggs shine into the darkness overcoming the light.  The more eggs that shine the more darkness is overcome.  Jesus' body was broken and placed in an empty tomb. When we accept him in our empty hearts, his light shines through us!

    Everyone left with glowing baskets and bags of candy. 

    It was epic. 

  • TrentTribe turns 5!

    Today marks the 5th birthday/anniversary of my blog.  When I decided to start blogging, I wondered how long I would keep it going.  I'm still writing! Hooray!  What began as a mini-experiment is now a part of my life.  Something that has become important enough to me that I try to post at least a couple times a week. 

    TrentTribe.com is my testimony.  It is one way I will make known to my children the works of God.  It's a journal, a recording of the faithfulness and provisions of God for the future generation.  It is a journal of what is happening in life.  It will be valuable to us as a family in the future. 

    Psalm 78:5-8
    "For He established a testimony in Jacob, and appointed a law in Israel, which He commanded the fathers, that they should make them known to their children; that the generation to come might know them, the children who would be born, that they may arise and declare them to their children, that they may set their hope in God, and not forget the works of God, but keep His commandments; And may not be like their fathers, a stubborn and rebellious generation, a generation that did not set it's heart aright, and whose spirit was not faithful to God. "

    Blogging holds me accountable.  If I tell y'all I'm going to do something, it makes me accountable to follow through.  Most of all, I hope my friends will find encouragement.  We all need it don't we?  This mothering business, wife work, and life livin' can be pretty tough sometimes.  I hope we, though sometimes weary and faint, can find refreshment in each other.

    I am so happy to have stayed in touch with old friends while gaining new friends and acquaintances.  Thanks for being here. 

     

  • Finding = Losing

    overflow

    Often times in life we find ourselves in difficult situations.  Enduring great grief or stress.  Our tendencies are to withdraw.  Our tendencies are to isolate ourselves because we just don't feel like doing the things we've done.  We just don't feel like participating in the things we've been a part of.  We're hurting.  We feel forgotten, abandoned, and cheated. 

    Matthew 16:24-25 says,

    Then Jesus said to his disciples, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross, and follow me. If you try to hang on to your life, you will lose it. But if you give up your life for my sake, you will save it.

    The Message translation says it this way,

    "Anyone who intends to come with me has to let me lead. You're not in the driver's seat; I am. Don't run from suffering; embrace it. Follow me and I'll show you how. Self-help is no help at all. Self-sacrifice is the way, my way, to finding yourself, your true self. What kind of deal is it to get everything you want but lose yourself? What could you ever trade your soul for?"

    That is some messed up mathematical equations!  Lose your life = saving your life.  Self-sacrifice = finding yourself.  Giving more = having more.  It doesn't add up but it's true.  When your instinct is to withdraw, dig down deep and give more of yourself.  Immerse yourself even more in doing for others and ministering to others.  You have needs?  Meet the needs of others.  Then watch God meet your needs.  You have hurt?  Help others in their hurt.  God will heal your hurt.  You feel unloved?  Love others.  God will love you and bless you with loving relationships. 

    We just want to be happy but we don't know how to find happiness.  If you pursue happiness, it will elude you. But if you focus on your faith, your family, your friends, the needs of others, your work, and do the very best you can, happiness will find you. 

    I love this quote from Barbara Johnson author of Laughter from Heaven,

    We should not arrive at death's door all prim and proper in a pretty and well-preserved body.  Instead we ought to arrive breathlessly, skidding broadside through the pearly gates, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming, "Wow!  What a ride!"

     

  • Hold Onto Your Confidence

    "So do not throw away this confident trust in the Lord. Remember the great reward it brings you!  Patient endurance is what you need now, so that you will continue to do God’s will. Then you will receive all that he has promised."  Hebrews 10:35-36

    Are you enduring a great fight right now?  Is the enemy determined to shipwreck your confidence?  You may be tempted to quit the fight and sink in despair but our Father is so full of love for his children he can't be stopped from bringing something out of nothing.  All it takes is one word from him and everything changes in an instant.  That's all it takes with the Lord.  He speaks one word and suddenly everything is transformed.  No matter what you're going through.  Give him your total confidence.  Hold on and don't give up.

    fishingnet

     

  • Living in the Present

    It was spring but it was summer I wanted; the warm days and the great outdoors.

    It was summer but it was fall I wanted; the colorful leaves and the cool dry air.

    It was fall but it was winter I wanted; the beautiful snow and the joy of the holiday season.

    It was winter but it was spring I wanted; the warmth and the blossoming of nature.

    I was a child but it was adulthood I wanted; the freedom and the respect.

    I was twenty but it was thirty I wanted; to be mature and sophisticated.

    I was middle-aged but it was twenty I wanted; the youth and the free spirit.

    I was retired but it was middle-age that I wanted; the presence of mind without limitations.

    My life was over but I never got what I wanted. -

    author unknown

    100_1035

    Some things I'm learning about living in the present:

    1.  Dream about the future, but work hard today. Dream big. Set goals and plans for the future. But working hard today is always the first step towards realizing your dreams tomorrow.

    2.  Stop worrying. You can’t fully appreciate today if you worry too much about tomorrow.

    3.  Fully appreciate the moments of today. Soak in as much of today as you possibly can – the sights, the sounds, the smells, the emotions, the triumph, and even the sorrow.

    "You must live in the present, launch yourself on every wave, find your eternity in each moment."  - Henry David Thoreau

  • EGGlow

    This Friday at LHC, we are having a community glow-in-the-dark Easter Egg Hunt

    From the moment we first came across the idea of having a glow-in-the-dark egg hunt, I loved it!  I loved the idea of those eggs glowing from within and shining into the darkness.  Isn't that what Jesus did?  Isn't that what we're called to do? To shine the light into the darkness! 

    Hope you'll join us! It's not too late to register! 

     "Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven."  Matthew 15:16

  • Resurrection Eggs

    We love having family traditions.  As we add children to our family and those children grow, we find more and more traditions that work for us.  It's time for our Easter tradition - Resurrection Eggs. We start the 12 days before Easter (this Wednesday) and do one egg each day. 

    You can buy a preassembled kit at Christian Book Stores or online. 

    We're cheap frugal.  So, we saved an egg carton, decorated it, bought some plastic eggs, and filled them on our own.  A basket with the eggs numbered would work just as well. 

    100_3678a

    We did a search on the internet and was surprised to find how many different versions are available.  We read through them and chose the items we liked best and the elements of the story that we most wanted to discuss.  Here are links to the sites we used:

    Holy Easter Resurrection Eggs

    Celebrate Easter:  Resurrection Eggs (Easy Fun School)

    Resurrection Eggs Easter Story Day 12 Cullen's Abc's (Video)

    After Easter, I store our carton away with the easter baskets.  We've been using the same eggs for several years. 

    The littles are wide eyed with anticipation and the bigs are thrilled by the familiarity of the story they've learned by heart.

  • Rock Eternal

     cliffsoverlake

    All Christians base their faith upon the Rock – Jesus Christ, the Cornerstone of faith.  It doesn't matter the color of our skin, the depth of our spirituality, the length of our infusing (my parents started me in church at 2 weeks old, that's a lot of infusing), or the degree of understanding.  What does matter is that we are part of the Rock – the everlasting eternal Rock.

    "My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever."  (Psalm 73:26)

    "Trust is the Lord forever, for the Lord, the Lord, is the Rock Eternal."  (Isaiah 26:4)

    "There is none Holy like The Lord, there is none besides Thee; there is no Rock like our God." (1 Samuel 2:2) 

    "My God, my Rock, in Whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold and my refuge, my Savior; Thou savest me from violence." (2 Samuel 22:3) 

    "To Thee, O Lord, I call; my Rock" (Psalm 28:1) 

    "Thou art my Father, my God, and the Rock of my salvation." (Psalm 89:26) 

    "O come, let us sing to The Lord; let us make a joyful noise to the Rock of our salvation! " (Psalm 95:1)

  • Happy Friday!

    I've been trying to update my blog theme all week and for whatever reason it won't process.  So frustrating.  Xanga users, have you had issues too?  I've tried the forums and other Help resources.

    The Trents have had a happy week in the Lowcountry.  The Lowcountry has been our home for three years now.  Either I've acclimated to the temps or this has been a cold(er) winter than the norm?  Long time residents, what's your opinion?

    My mom and stepdad visited over the weekend.  We enjoyed a trip to the zoo, did a little shopping, and watched a movie.  (Not all on the same day, of course.)

    Our basketball players won their games!  Which means both teams are in the Championship for their age division.  They play this Tuesday.  So exciting!

    I love Jesus most of all but y'all I love my church.  I really do.  My girls and I have been doing a lot of extra work for our children and student ministries.  I love serving with my girls.  It's awesome to do ministry as a family.  Sometimes my to do list makes me want to hyperventilate.  When I take a moment to breathe, I feel so much love and joy.  I may be busy but I LOVE every minute of what I'm doing.  I hope you love your church.  I hope you are serving in your church and community.  Seriously.  Your church, community, and the kingdom needs your talent/creativity.  It doesn't need a half-hearted effort, though.  It needs your total love and devotion to what you are doing in Jesus' name.  It's for His glory, after all! 

    Happy Friday!  May your weekend be abundantly blessed!