April 24, 2009

  • Fabric Softener for the Rinse Cycle

    I've really enjoyed our homemade dryer sheets.

    100_0987

    I discovered that I like the same recipe even better in the rinse cycle. 

    2 cups water

    1 cup vinegar

    2/3 cup of any hair conditioner

    Stir together.  (Don't shake.)

    Add not even 1/4 cup (I don't know exactly cause I eyeball it) per load of laundry.  I calculated my cost at less than 1/2  cent per load!   

    For more Frugal Friday, visit Life As Mom.

     

Comments (4)

  • OH MY! Thanks so much for this tip! We have been really tight lately and I have been out of fabric softner for while so I have just been using plain ol vinegar! Thanks so much for sharing..Great tip!

    Joy

  • This is great! Thanks for sharing!

    ~Liz

  • Perfect answer to an unspoken need. I have an extra bottle of hair condition I was needing to find a use for. Do you put the softener in one of those Downey balls?

  • @georgene - My washer has a compartment for the fabric softener.  A Downey ball would work fine or you could just listen for the rinse cycle.  :)   You can also soak a rag in the solution, ring it out and throw it in the dryer.  (Homemade dryer sheet.)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment