August 28, 2009

  • Home Pedicure

    The girls in the Trent household love a good pedicure.  They are expensive.  I've learned to do them at home for cheap. 

     

    Gather all your supplies, a glass of water, laptop, bible, or other good book. 

    Step 1:  Buy a cheap foot or body soak.  You can easily find them for $1 ( Dollar Tree).  I like the mint scents.  Pour into tub of hot water and soak your feet for 10-20 minutes.  (Use this time to read and sip on water.)

    Step 2:  Using a pumice rock or ped egg or foot paddle (buy one for $1 at Dollar Tree) scrub rough areas on feet.  Rinse.

    Step 3:  Dry your feet and apply a cheap facial mask (again, $1).  I apply it to my entire feet including my ankles.  Follow facial instructions for length of time and rinsing. (More time to read and sip on water.)

    Step 4:  Generously apply vaseline to feet, wrap in plastic wrap.  Leave on 10 minutes.  Remove wrap and rinse. (Keep drinking my water.)

    Step 5:  Clip and Shape toenails.  Use an emery board to give your nails a perfect shape.

    Step 6:  Paint toenails your favorite color. 

    Spend less than $10 for products that will last many pedicures to come.  Enjoy a savings of $20 or more per pedicure!

    I've treated my girls to their own spa pedicures.  I plan special activities for the soaking and waiting.  I have fun questions for us to answer like, "If you won a million dollars...", "If you could go anywhere in the world..."  I read them stories.  We talk about virtues and true beauty that comes from within. 

    This would also make an excellent, frugal, beautiful gift basket.   

    You can treat your feet and be refreshed on a budget!  

    For more Frugal Friday, visit Life As Mom.

Comments (7)

  • i want to come to your spa!! :)

  • I think this is a great idea, but as I read through your list I couldn't help but to think I would need a bathroom break after sipping all that water!  LOL! 

  • @Sheila - Hydration is part of the spa experience.  It replenishes and cleanses your body.  You are right, though - a bathroom break will be needed! 

  • I love this idea and would love to do this with my daughter! how much fun and how it really saves a ton of money!

  • I still think I prefer to go to the spa :)   (although, I have only done it twice in my life!).  I do love your tips though; esp. the neat ideas for how you paint your girls' toes.  I'm going to try that!

  • This is great! I don't get pedicures and spa treatments because I don't want to spend the money on them. Now I can just give myself the royal treatment. Thanks!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment