November 12, 2009

  • Grocery Shopping - Doing It Smarter

    As my family grows, so does the amount of groceries in my cart.  I'm learning little tricks along the way to make grocery shopping easier. 

    cart

    For instance, at the checkout unload the large stuff first!  Getting the heavy items in the cart first keeps from crushing fragile foods like bread or grapes. 

    Store layouts vary, but the fresh foods are on the perimeter of the store.  The packaged goods are in the center.  I write my list by category (produce, bread, frozen, canned...)  If I'm using a coupon, I'll mark a C next to the item.  If it's a sale item, I'll mark S next to the item.  This bit of list planning saves me from backtracking.

    Another cool tip I picked up along the way is to use the stores' Web sites.  Many store sites let you print coupons or even download coupons to your savings card.  It's also a great way to get freebies.  Check to see if they have kid clubs or baby clubs.  They usually send you something special each month for your babe or for the bigger kids birthdays. 

    valucard

    A little extra planning makes for a successful grocery trip!  It saves me time and money.  This mom of four can always use more of both!

    This post is linked to Frugal Friday at Life As Mom.

Comments (1)

  • I use "C" for coupon, too, but never thought of "S" for sale. Good way to keep track!

    Today I paid 59 and change for 130 dollars worth of groceries--not bad! I love the coupon thing, LOL!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment