February 3, 2010

  • Hudson Cream Corn Meal

    I  cornbread. 

    My Grandmother Phillips had a skillet of cornbread and a pan of biscuits on her stove top at all times.  Thanks to my Momma, who taught me well, no other corn meal will do.  It has to be Hudson Cream Corn Meal.

    cornmealmix

                     

    My recipe for cornbread:

    Preheat oven to 425 degrees. 

    Put a glob (about a spoonful) of shortening in an iron skillet. 

    Place skillet in the oven to heat up while you are preheating. 

    Stir together

    • 2 cups of Hudson Cream Corn Meal (no other will do)
    • 1 egg (slightly beaten)
    • 1 cup milk
    • 1/4 cup oil
    • 1/4 cup sugar

    Mix well.  Pour into heated skillet.  Bake 20 to 25 min. 

    Sometimes I use the above recipe to make muffins.  Bake 15 min.  Makes 12 large muffins.

    You just try it.  Cornbread will never be the same. 

Comments (2)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment