May 26, 2010

  • So Glad She Didn't Perish

    I read through the book of Esther recently and something really stood out.

     

    “Go, gather together all the Jews that are present in Shushan, and fast ye for me, and neither eat nor drink in three days, night or day:  I also and my maidens will fast likewise: and so will I go in unto the king, which is not according to the law: and if I perish, I perish.”  Esther 4:16

     

    Here she was the ultimate beauty queen.  She was living the good life.  She had endured twelve months of spa treatments.  Twelve months, girls!  She won the ultimate pageant.  She was the fairest in all the land.  She didn’t win on outer beauty alone.  Her inner beauty shone through and found her a lot of favor. 

     

    Image Preview

     

    Her "happily ever after" was short lived because just four chapters in, she was thrust into conflict.  Suddenly this beauty queen was on the front lines facing the possibility of sacrificing her life for the greater good of her people.    

     

     When Esther made the decision to go to the king, even though she had not been summoned and likely faced death – she said, “I’ll go.  If I perish, I perish.”  She was willing to die.  She was willing to make that sacrifice for the good of her people.  

     

    So many times in life, we like Esther must make decisions.  We take that step of faith.  We go in the direction of the unknown.  We face terrifying decisions and we're not sure what to do.  Let's do what Esther did – fast, pray and go forward.  “If I perish, I perish.”

     

    We all know the ending, she didn’t perish.  God moved in a mighty way and her uncle’s words proved true, she was brought to the palace for such a time as this.

     

Comments (4)

  • I appreciate your post today!   I love the story of Esther.. You are right... What an example she was... Not only was she so beautiful.. but the inner beauty and wisdom she possessed..  She was bold, daring, and allowed God to use her.. for His purpose!  I really needed to be reminded of this today.. Thanks!

    Oh I am an idiot.. I read the Carb book a year ago and forgot about the Chromium thing.. I never tried it... I will get my book back out and take a look lol   How are you doing, by the way??? 

  • I am possibly facing some difficult decisions. This post encouraged me. Thank you, sweet pea!

  • I loved the story and book of Esther.  The movie "One Night With The King" was awesome and was great on portraying the story of Esther.

  • @georgene - praying with you!  :)

    @katbird22 - loved that movie! 

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment