October 7, 2010

  • Elkanah House

    lilhouse

    We are home owners.  I'm so thrilled!  This is the realty company's photo from winter. 

    We have lots of house projects to work on and lots of landscaping to trim.  I look forward to posting updated pics!  Thanks so much for the prayers.

    I love houses with names.  As soon as the offer on our house was accepted I started researching name possibilities.  I tried to find something that related to the history of the house and the location.  Nothing seemed right.  I consulted with a friend, Pastor Darrell Harmon.  His house, nestled in the Appalachian Mountains, has an amazing name!  He gave me some tips and got me pointed in an inspiring direction.  After weeks of thought and prayer, we chose Elkanah House.  Elkanah is Hebrew.  It means "possessed by God". 

    100_4936a

    I'm off to grout tile, move boxes, paint walls, do laundry, fix meals, and teach kids. 

    I attempted to cancel homeschool for a few days, a.k.a. fall break, but to no avail.  The girls insisted they REALLY wanted to do school.  After I picked myself up off the floor and touched all their foreheads to see if they were delirious with fever, I agreed.  I'm really thinking, "Can't a momma get a teacher work day?"

    P.S.  I  those girls!

Comments (3)

  • Love it!  The name fits the house and you so well.  Take and post lots of pics for your friends who do not own their own house and therefore cannot paint wild and wacky colors nor grout their own tile. (i.e. ME!)

  • @betheelou - Thank you!  You are always so sweet to me!  :)   How can I neglect all this easy blogging material?  lol  We moved to an area with very few rental opportunities.  It is very rural.  At first we were fortunate to move into a house that was really for sale.  The owner agreed to let us rent it for 6 months but at the end of the 6 months he wanted to relist it for sale.  So, we had to get busy finding a house!  We feel very blessed with the house God has provided for us and at half the monthly rent we were paying!  :)

  • the name is beautiful...you have me thinking about naming this house.
    seriously. i LOVE that idea! so meaningful!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment