March 10, 2011

  • Joy in the Journey

    joy

    I once heard a story about two brothers who set out to dig a deep hole in their backyard. “What are you doing?” some older boys asked. 

    “We are digging a hole through the earth!” the brothers replied.

    The older boys laughed. Digging a hole all the way through the earth was impossible.

    After a few moments, one of the diggers picked up a jar full of spiders, worms, and other treasures. “Even if we don’t dig all the way through the earth, look what we found along the way!”

    The moral of the story: It is in the digging that life is lived.

    In our journey towards debt-free living, how many times do we say, “I’ll be happy when I’m debt-free?”   “I’ll be happy when the emergency fund is fully-funded.” or “I’ll be happy when the mortgage is paid off.”

    We’re distracted by crisis. We all face frustration, boredom, pain. But joy is a choice

    By recognizing the positives in my life, I feel joy. Celebrating the everyday blessings is a deliberate action. It’s a purposeful mindset which transforms my life.

    Blessings are all around us; they are just waiting to be noticed. We can choose to dwell on the difficulties or we can look for the joy.

    I still have problems. I still have inconveniences and discomforts. However, I am allowing them to be less important, less significant by choosing to acknowledge the wonderful things in my life. I am practicing praise and attempting to do away with complaining.

    There is joy in the journey.  

     

Comments (5)

  • "I still have problems. I still have inconveniences and discomforts.
    However, I am allowing them to be less important, less significant by
    choosing to acknowledge the wonderful things in my life. I am practicing
    praise and attempting to do away with complaining."

    Love this!  I am going to remind myself of this on a daily basis.  In fact I need to write it down and plaster it on every mirror and window in the house :)  

  • Loved this! Joy is indeed a choice.  

  • Your post reminds me of a book I just finished and loved, One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp.

    Love to you! Good post!

  • @georgene - Wow, Georgene.  That's quite the compliment.  Although no one can write as descriptively and beautifully as Ann.  :)   I wrote this post a while back ago as a guest post at Money Saving Mom.  I decided to post it on my own blog so that it wouldn't get lost in the world of coupons. lol

    @Janet @inanorchard - - It's a conscious effort on our part.  Oh but the rewards... :)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment