April 4, 2013

  • What say you?

    (The Chief was bombarded with birds at a recent trip to the zoo.)

    I was sharing with the Chief over breakfast about a certain prayer concern I have been praying for someone at their request.  I was feeling frustrated to still be praying that same thing because I believe that I serve a powerful living God who hears and answers prayers.  I can't help wondering if maybe God has something else (something better) in mind for their life?

    "A stagnant life will produce stagnant prayers. Prayer is mobile and empowers the vision." - The Chief

    The Chief is so God's gift for me.  He made the above statement to me in response to that conversation.  I believe he is on to something.  I think we can get stagnated in our lives.  We get stuck in ruts praying the same things over and over.  But.  Maybe God wants to move us in an entirely different direction.  Maybe we are so caught up in what we've been persuing we can't see the answers God is providing?  So, if it seems like God isn't answering prayer, we should try praying a different prayer.

    What say you?

Comments (6)

  • i agree.  i find myself asking God, "are ya sick of me praying for that yet?" lol  i struggle with trying to get specific in what i pray for.--karen

  • @lifeontheWink - We have to be careful to not pray answers, don't we?  And to pray according to his will. 

  • Great thoughts, Amanda. "If it seems like God isn't answering prayer, we should try praying a different prayer."  That's so good.  And I love how you love your husband.  He is wise.

  • Hmmm....  interesting to think about.  God is teaching me a lot about prayer and the purpose of it.  I think some prayers need repetition if the spirit is burdening you with it - but yeah, I think we get stagnant with our prayers very easily, seeking our own desires and not God's answers. 

  • "Maybe we are so caught up in what we've been persuing we can't see the answers God is providing?" needed this reminder this morning. focusing on the request rather than God Himself. good good nuggets of truth from both you and your hubby~ 

  • I know this is an older post but I'm just getting caught up on the blogs.
    This subject reminds me of the parable I believe Jesus taught about the woman who kept bombarding the king with her request until he finally answered.  I think as humans we think all of our requests should be answered right now but I think God teaches us patience, perseverance, and endurance by not answering right.then and then sometimes we don't know the whole details so maybe it is good sometimes that he doesn't answer all our prayers.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment