April 15, 2013

  • Falling in Love with Him

    (The beautiful waterfront @ Beaufort, SC)

    At the young age of 10, Jesus saved my soul.  I was thankful for the gift of salvation.  I wanted to go to heaven.  I wanted to be saved from an eternity in Hell.  But deep down, I was afraid of God.  I wanted to be good.  I wanted to “behave” to please Him and my parents.  But He wasn’t my best friend.  He saved my soul but it wasn’t until I was 16 that He won my heart.  At the age of 16, I fell in love with Him.  I fell in love with His word.  He became my best friend.  He became my joy.  My peace.  He was my comfort, the one I depended on.  Have you had an experience like that with Jesus?  Cause if you had, you’d know.  You would never be the same!  I was never the same!

    So many times we as Christians become lethargic.  We burn out and we’re living lives no different than those who don‘t know Him.  We need to fall in love with Jesus.  

    We are guilty of “going through the motions,” “business as usual,” and boredom.  Being a Christian is not boredom.  Never ever boredom!

    When we stop spending time with God, it is noticeable, it comes out in our attitudes.  If we don’t spend time with God that day, we know it. If we don’t spend time with God for a couple of days, our family begins to notice. If we don’t spend time with God for about a week, everybody else in our lives notices. It comes out in our attitude because we’re sharp, we’re not loving, we’re critical, we’re impatient, we can be cranky.  But when we are filled with love it pushes all those things out the back door. The only way you get that love is spending time with Jesus.

    Let's live the rest of our lives serving God's purposes.  Let's refuse to waste anymore time or energy on shallow living, petty thinking, or faithless worrying.  Let's do the best we can with what we have for Jesus today. 

Comments (3)

  • you are right, we need to fill ourselves up with jesus so there is no room for anything else. this is the day that the lord has made, what will we do with it? i think i'll go out and be glad "in it" no matter what. have a great monday!--karen

  • @lifeontheWink - Awesomeness!  Joyful Monday to you!  :)

  • Hi! Long time! How have you been? God speed, ~ Pete

    "“If it had not been the Lord who was on our side...then the waters would have overwhelmed us, the stream would have gone over our soul; then the swollen waters would have gone over our soul. Blessed be the Lord..." Psalm 124:1, 4-6

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment