January 16, 2009

  • Homemade Baby Wipes, Are they worth it?

    I tweaked the original Homemade Baby Wipes Recipe just a smidge.  Instead of 1 T of rubbing alcohol, I reduced it to 1/2 T of rubbing alcohol.  I prefer them with the added baby wash.  I also switched from Bounty to Viva paper towels on Laura's (thanks for commenting, I can't find your site) recommendation.  I price checked the brand name baby oil and baby wash but you can save even more with the generic.  I am using a 50 sheet roll of papertowels.  So, I used half the liquid ingredients. 

    Johnson and Johnson Baby Oil at $3.50 for 20 ounce bottle.  Used 1 T.

    Johnson and Johnson Baby Wash at $3.75 for 15 ounce bottle.  Used 1/2 T.

    Rubbing Alcohol at $1.29 for 16 ounce bottle.  Used 1/4 T. 

    Viva paper towels at $1.21 per roll.  (I bought the eight pack to get the extra savings.)  Used 1/2 roll. 

    Divide, multiply, and add.  It comes out to $0.77 for 50 wipes.  

    100_1557  

    Go to Biblical Womanhood for more Frugal Tips.

     

Comments (5)

  • Hmm... I need to try these. I don't have any babies left at home but I buy baby wipes for other things. This looks like an easy recipe. Thank you!

  • @Domestic_Economy - What's great about the wipes, is the potential for savings is even greater.  All these items could easily be purchased with rebates, ECBs, coupons ...  For instance I purchased baby oil and baby wash with a coupon getting them at half the regular price.  Rite Aid had a deal on Viva paper towels through yesterday, making them 0.88 per roll.  All of this brought my cost to $0.65 for 50 wipes.

  • YOU GO GIRL!!!!!!        

  • So, I had to make some changes because I calculated too much liquid for a 50 sheet roll of papertowels.  Both Baby Wipe posts now reflect those changes.  Using my coupons and shopping the sale items I was able to make 50 wipes for less than the above.  The above is based on the non-sale, non-coupon price.  My cost was less than $0.53 for fifty wipes.  I apologize for the confusion.

  • The chap is definitely just, and there is no doubt. 5 1 check. I read so much helpful data above! 8 2 5. Quite worthwhile data, thanks for your post. 0 LINK here. Well, I do not really suppose this may work.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment