April 4, 2011

  • Prayer and Master Bedrooms (LD, wk 7)

    This week's Love Dare  focus is praying for your spouse and praying together.  Choose three specific areas to pray for your spouse.  Areas that would transform your spouse's life and your marriage.  This is your chance to experience the power of prayer!  A farmer cannot make a seed grow into a fruitful crop.  He cannot argue, manipulate, or demand it to bear fruit.  But he can plant seed into fertile soil, give it water and nutrients, protect it from weeds, and then turn it over to God. 

    Today as I spent time praying for the three specific things for the Chief, I decided to tidy up the master bedroom.  It isn't very big but I want it to be relaxing and stress free.  As I prayed about the first thing, I changed the sheets.  I started decluttering the room and praying over the second thing.  It was a wonderful feeling to see the room transforming and to know that God is working a transformation in the areas of prayer as well.  By the third thing, I was dusting the furniture and lighting a scented candle. 

     100_2073

    When I look at photos of us, I remember why I married the Chief.  It reminds me of the happy times.  Every couple needs a framed photo in a prominent place in the bedroom.  Not just a wedding photo.  A recent photo too. 

    100_2068

    Marriage is a beautiful mystery created by God, joining two lives together as one.  It's physical, spiritual, and emotional.  You start off sharing the same house, the same bed, the same last name.  Your identity as individuals has been joined into one.  When your spouse goes through a tragedy, both of you feel it.  When you find success at your job, both of you rejoice.  You are a part of one another.  When you look at your mate, you're looking at a part of you.  So treat him well.  Speak highly of him.  Nourish and cherish the love of your life.  Together remember the happiness and love that brought you together. (Love Dare)

    Happy "Love Daring" this week, friends!  Next Sunday (4/10) is our final week.  

Comments (3)

  • I had to laugh while I read this- thats the way I do a lot of my praying too!!! 

    First good chuckle I've had today! THANKS!

  • Good thoughts at the end!
    Also, we have no pictures in our room....that would be my fault since I am the one in charge of decor!
    I think I will have to put one up...thanks for the idea! =)

  • @victoriantomboy - Prayer in action, right? lol

    @Elizabethmarie_1 - FlyLady!  I think.  I think that's where I read the pic suggestion but when I went to her site to find it, I couldn't.  Anyway, every few weeks I try to implement one thing to make our bedroom more romantic.  The pics were something I did a while back ago.  Most recently I added the lace curtains.  Not too girly but very romantic.   

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment