June 6, 2011

  • Freezer Cooking Monday

    My computer is still sick.  The keyboard died.  A new keyboard is coming any day now.  I'm blogging from a borrowed computer just to tell y'all about my Freezer Cooking Monday. 

    I am blessed with a new (to me) freezer.  I've been anxious to fill it. 

    My littlest miss accompanied me to the Piggly Wiggly or as she says the "Piggahly Wiggahly" for some freezer cooking groceries this weekend. 

    This morning I pulled out both my crockpots.  I put a pack of chicken in one and 2lbs hamburger in the other and set them to cooking.  I rinsed a huge bag of pinto beans and started them soaking.  I took an additional 2lbs of hamburger and made meatballs (recipe below).  I lined the meatballs on wax paper to flash freeze before putting them in the freezer bags.  Total time 30 min. 

    mballs

    (Some of my meatballs.  I debated on posting this pic cause raw meat is kinda ew... but what's a post without pics?)

    A little later, I labeled quart size freezer bags for the browned hamburger.  Drained the meat.  Spooned it into the bags.  Most of the hamburger was frozen for tacos or spaghetti.  I used some of it for our lunch (spaghetti).  Bagged those meatballs that were flash freezing.  Total time less than 10 min.

    After lunch, I labeled gallon size freezer bags for the pinto beans.  Drained them and gave them a final rinse before bagging them.  With the beans in the freezer already soaked, they'll be ready to pull out and cook. Total time 5 min.

    pintobeans

    Mid-afternoon, I used the chicken to put together casseroles (recipe below) for the freezer.  Total time 30 min.

    chckcass

    A little over an hour of my time has created the start of nine meals for my family and saved me bunches of future meal prep time.  I love it! 

    Read more about freezer cooking

    Meat Balls Recipe:

    2 lbs of hamburger

    1 cup of bread crumbs

    2 eggs

    1/4 cup onion

    1/4 cup green pepper

    Salt, pepper, seasoning salt, as desired.

    With a mixer or by hand, mix together all ingredients.  Divide into balls.  Wrap, label, and freeze.  When ready to serve, thaw and bake 350 degrees for 15 minutes or until cooked through. 

    Chicken Casserole (makes 1 casserole, I double and make 2):

    Chicken (the recipe calls for 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts, I use whole chicken or whatever is on sale)

    1 can cream of chicken or mushroom

    1 cup milk

    1 package stuffing (8oz.)

    Cook chicken, reserve broth (about a cup and half).  Shred chicken in baking dish.  Heat soup with milk and pour over chicken.  Mix stuffing with broth and pour over chicken.  Wrap, label, and freeze.  When ready to serve, thaw and bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes or until cooked through.

    This post is linked to Freezer Cooking Days at Life As Mom.

Comments (5)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment