May 17, 2012

  • Right, Wrong, and Marriage

    I have no way of knowing whether or not you married the wrong person, but I do know that many people have a lot of wrong ideas about marriage and what it takes to make that marriage happy and successful. I’ll be the first to admit that it’s possible that you did marry the wrong person. However, if you treat the wrong person like the right person, you could well end up having married the right person after all. On the other hand, if you marry the right person, and treat that person wrong, you certainly will have ended up marrying the wrong person. I also know that it is far more important to be the right kind of person than it is to marry the right person. In short, whether you married the right or wrong person is primarily up to you.  – Zig Ziglar

    I want to be the "right kind of person."  Don't you?

Comments (10)

  • look at you two! i love seeing wedding pics! so beautiful. when was this, amanda?

    interesting and challenging quote from zig. i want to be the right kind of person too. help me Jesus! :)

    honestly...sometimes i can cringe when i hear someone talking about all the wonderful things about their spouse concluding with how glad they are that THEY married the right person. too bad for others. when...some of us married the right person too. we tried really hard. and the difficulties on our plates aren't something we saw coming. or deserved. i don't know if that makes any sense. and i'm not directing it at you. just thinking outloud...and appreciating your encouragement here.

  • @down_onthefarm - This was in '96 (almost 16 years ago).  I was 19 (almost 20).  I absolutely agree with what you shared.  I've seen the reverse as well, where someone believes they married the wrong person and how lucky we are to have married the right person.  I've never worked so hard to be lucky. lol  I think what good ol' Zig is getting at, doesn't matter who you marry as much as what you make of it mutually.

  • Love that picture!  What a beautiful bride you were!  Wonderful quote too, there's no magic to it, just hard work.

  • @down_onthefarm - Cindy I really like your "thinking out loud".  Smoothness and ease is not the sure-fire sign of a good marriage.

  • @inanorchard - @TrentTribe - whew. you girls are awesome. thanks for hearing what i tried to say. :) i actually came back here last night to delete that part of my comment!  i didn't want to hurt anyone and it felt like something that could be sooooo misunderstood in written words, better as a discussion irl.

    have a great weekend...both you friends!

  • We were married in '97 and I was 20!
    So if you were married in '96 and you were 19...hold on let me do the math....yeah, we are about the same age. ;)

    This was good, thanks for sharing.

  • @down_onthefarm - Cindy, I was SO offended! I can't believe you would write that! ;)

    Loose quote from my Mom ~ When people are always boasting about how wonderful their marriage is and say they never have struggles, those are the ones with the problems.

    Not always true, but, I have seen that.
    When someone says ~ "We never have any fights" I don't know if I believe them. ;)
    Jeff and I are the exception of course. We are perfect in every way. Haha.

  • Amen!  We've been married for 32 years.  Thankfully the times when I want to throw in the towel,  my husband did not.  And when he was ready to quit,  I did not want to.

    So we worked it out everytime and are happier now than we have ever been.  

  • Love the picture   

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment